Heritage listed Ormiston House is one of the finest examples of colonial architecture in Queensland. It is situated on the shores of Moreton Bay, with spectacular views out to the sparkling waters of the bay. Built in 1862 by Captain the Hon. Louis Hope, it is known as the birthplace of the Australian Sugar Industry, as the first commercial sugar was milled here in 1864. The beautiful grounds have significant botanical importance, with some rare trees existing here since planted by Captain Hope. The house has been lovingly restored over the past 40 years and it is open to the public every Sunday afternoon, when visitors can inspect the house and enjoy a Devonshire Tea on the wide verandah.
Access around the house is level and accessible to wheelchairs. Ramps are available to give access to the house.
How To Get There
Follow tourist signs, UBD reference 185 K3.
The house and grounds are open for inspection every Sunday 12.00 - 4.00 pm. Devonshire Teas are served on the verandah and visitors are welcome to picnic in the grounds (no barbecues).
Weekday tours for coaches, schools and clubs can be arranged by appointment. There are special events and entertainment on many Sundays throughout the year.
|Adult||$5.00||01 Jan - 31 Mar|
|$1.00||01 Jan - 31 Mar|
* Please note: These rates are indicative based on the minimum and maximum available costs of listed products and services. To obtain a firm price from the provider, please use the contact the operator. All prices are quoted in Australian dollars.