J E Brown commenced business as a provisions and victuals merchant in 1857 in Richmond Street. In 1879 J E Brown had this two-storey brick warehouse built and was designed by a local architect James Buchanan. In later years, the premises were used for dances, balls, boxing tournaments, a restaurant, and currently houses the Maryborough Military and Colonial Museum. This museum provides a testament to not only those heroes who fought in distant lands, but also those courageous and determined people who pioneered and progressed the Maryborough area for nearly two centuries. For current information on the museum (opening hours and admission fees) please visit the website.
Children are welcomed to view and visit.
Access is availalbe for visitors with a disability.
* Please note: These rates are indicative based on the minimum and maximum available costs of listed products and services. To obtain a firm price from the provider, please use the contact the operator. All prices are quoted in Australian dollars.